The church originated in 1841 following the formation of the Parish of Rossett out of Gresford Parish, but was replaced in 1892 by today’s building. Opinion is divided whether Rossett derives from “Yr Orsedd” meaning hillock, or “Y Rhosydd” meaning marsh.
Designed by Chester architects, Douglas and Fordham, who also designed the neighbouring churches of Dodleston, Pulford and Eccleston, Rossett has a peal of eight tubular bells.
The stained glass contains several good examples of the period. Two windows are accredited to the artist Kemp, and one to Burne Jones.
The reredos features five oak panels depicting Christ and six angels, and is of coloured alabaster and abalone. The hexagonal carved oak pulpit survives from the original church, as does the font in the church grounds.
Visitors are urged to explore the Living Churchyard, which contains several conservation sections.
The bier house once kept the old bier cart which carried the coffins through the village, and was until recently on display at Bersham Heritage Centre, near Wrexham.
The earliest written record of St Martin’s Church dates from 1254, when the church belonged to the diocese of St Asaph. In 1284 it transferred to Maenan Abbey as part of the resettlement agreement which [more]
The earliest known documentary evidence for a Hanmer connection with St Chad is in the charter of Leofric, Earl of Chester AD 1043, (Thorpe’s Diplomatarium Anglicanum p.352) in which he bestows upon his newly founded [more]